Sunny Sundays

Sunday 17th April

Fantastic day. Managed a second run of the weekend – my foot (metatarsalgia or stress fracture) is still not great but over a month of resting from running has really helped (although I have really missed it). Great to get down to the beach again in the freshness of a new morning with the promise of a day ahead.

Some sorting (addressing the issue of mice in the attic, grrr), air guitar en famille then a walk with the girls on bikes around the common to get F to sleep. Beautiful day. Only downer being J doing something to his back, which has totally seized up, laying him out flat for the whole day. We could have got so much done as a team today…:-(

Picnic lunch outside then gardening. Didn’t manage to the the potatoes or carrots in as planned (although at one point I didn’t think I was going to get a chance to get anything done: that frustrating period of time with small clingy children is short-lived but instantly frustrating whilst in it!). I am realising that now F is one year old, she should have stopped the day time feeds – she was doing so but the last few days has fed night and day much more often. Next steps: to address both this and the night time feeding and waking….?? At least I get the chance to read whilst I feed – at present I am reading ‘Wonder’ by R J Palacio, which is gripping, touching and beautifully written.

Potted up a whole load of seeds so cross fingers. Last year I planted everything straight out into the veggie boxes but it got a bit overgrown as I didn’t thin them all out enough. This year I’m planning to germinate them first, then plant the seedlings so I can (hopefully) be more in control. Here’s hoping, anyway. The girls had great fun making a water slide, making soup for our dinner, then making and wearing a new brand perfume. F got completely soaked in the bucket of water but had a ball. Happy days.

 

Finished with a great tea service at church. The parable of the lost sheep, lots of sheep related activities and singing and tea and friends. Nice way to end a lovely relaxed weekend. Sometimes wish I was homeschooling so we could have every day like this, rather than the stress of the school run and constant bombardment of information and things to do beyond my control…

Leave a Reply

